The Next Four Years

Ireland at PQ 2023 Credits

Participating Designers

Ciarán Bagnall

Lian Bell

Katie Davenport

Mel Mercier

Rob Moloney

Eimer Murphy

Jack Phelan

Sinéad Wallace

with special thanks to Aedín Cosgrove


Presented by the Irish Society of Performance Designers in association with Once Off Productions

Exhibition Team

Curator: Tom Creed

Filming and Editing: Michael-David McKernan

Photography: Ros Kavanagh

Graphic Design: Niall Sweeney, Pony Ltd.

Executive Producers: Maura O’Keeffe, Orla Flanagan

Line Producer: Grace Morgan

Assistant Producer: Morgan Steele

Marketing: Lisa Nally

Publicity: Jenny Sharif PR

Performers: Luan Bruggeman, Caitríona Finnegan, Bryan Quinn and students from 
Hartstown Community School

Technical Director: Ronan O’Shea

Production Manager: Andrew Crowley

Sound Recording: Danilo Zambrano, Eóin Murphy

Technicians: Jess Fitzsimons Kane, Pedro Pacheco, Gráinne Earley, 
Emily Long

Irish Society of Performance Designers (ISPD)

Committee: Catherine Fay (Chair), Katie Davenport (Vice Chair), Laura Fajardo (Secretary), Jack Scullion (Treasurer), Niall Rea (Education Officer), Ciarán Bagnall, Valentina Gambardella, John Gunning, Lisa Krugel, Patrick Molloy, Molly O’Cathain, Conleth White

PQ 2023 Subcommittee: Deirdre Dwyer (Chair), Sarah Jane Shiels (Secretary), Owen Boss, Liam Doona, Sinéad O’Donnell-Carey, Pai Rathaya, Kata Rozvadska

Associate Producer and Communications Manager: Noelia Ruiz

Arts Consultant: Tríona Ní Dhuibhir


The curator, participating designers, Once Off Productions and ISPD would like to thank the following people and organisations for their support of The Next Four Years: Mark O’Brien, Rob Furey and
all at the Abbey Theatre; Niamh Ní Chonchubhair and all at Axis Ballymun; Sharon Barry, Ciarán Walsh and all at Culture Ireland; David Parnell and all at the Arts Council; Rosemary Steen, Mary Whelan and all at Design & Crafts Council Ireland; Cian O’Brien,
Orla Moloney and all at Project Arts Centre; Stephen Bourke; Lisa Nally; Emma Coen; Louise White; Dead Centre; Noel Wade and all the students who took part in filming from Hartstown Community School; and all
the exhibition invigilators.

ISPD would also like to thank the following people and organisations for their support: Niamh O’Donnell and all at Irish Theatre Institute; field:arts; Caoileann Curry-Thompson; Helen Carey; Tríona Ní Dhuibhir; Jane Daly and Siobhán Bourke for being pivotal to the firm foundation of the society; Theatre Forum; all members of the PQ 2023 Subcommittee; and all our membership.

The Irish Society of Performance Designers (ISPD) is the representative body of scenographers in Ireland,
a professional organization run by designers for designers. The society celebrates, showcases, promotes, and supports Ireland’s scenographers at all stages of their careers by acting as an advocating entity, a national
and international networking
hub, and a resource hub.
As an advocating entity, ISPD fosters designers’ visibility
as vital key players in the theatre and arts ecosystem, while championing diversity, inclusivity, and accessibility. ISPD is a member of Design & Crafts Council Ireland.

Once Off Productions is an independent producing platform established in 2004 by Maura O’Keeffe to provide creative and flexible producing supports for independent performing artists. Currently funded under a Creative Production Services pilot scheme by the Arts Council of Ireland, Once Off is led by a small team of experienced cultural sector professionals. Once Off enables some of the most brilliant and exciting artists based in Ireland today to develop, create and present new work for us all.

The Next Four Years is funded by The Arts Council of Ireland / An Chomhairle Ealaíon and Culture Ireland, and supported by the Design & Crafts Council of Ireland.